Book Review: Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson

 Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson

Published by Greenwillow Books on September 22, 2015

Genres: Young Adult, Historical, Fantasy

Pages: 432 – hardcover, 313 – ebook

Format: eARC

Source: Greenwillow books via Edelweiss

                              BUY LINKS

goodreads amazon_button b and n


Blurb:

Lee Westfall has a secret. She can sense the presence of gold in the world around her. Veins deep beneath the earth, pebbles in the river, nuggets dug up from the forest floor. The buzz of gold means warmth and life and home—until everything is ripped away by a man who wants to control her. Left with nothing, Lee disguises herself as a boy and takes to the trail across the country. Gold was discovered in California, and where else could such a magical girl find herself, find safety?


Review:

Many thanks to the publisher for providing me with an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review!

I’ve been hearing a lot about this book. Westerns are making a come back this year with books like Vengeance Road, Under a Painted Sky, and Walk on Earth a Stranger. I never used to read them before, but I’m so glad they’re back – I’ve been very into them lately.

At first, I thought this was a high fantasy book. I don’t know why, maybe it was the vibe the fancy cover gave off or Rae Carson’s other book – The Girl of Fire and Thorns. Imagine my surprise when I read the synopsis a few minutes before getting into the book and realizing it was Western.

This book got me out of a terrible reading slump, you know, that one after Queen of Shadows? Yeah. Anyway, let’s just get into this review.

Leah Westfall has a secret – she’s a gold witch. She can sense and dig up gold deep beneath the earth around her. But one day, her parents are murdered and she is forced to go west, to the land of plenty gold, where no one will think twice about her gold-finding skills. She disguises herself as a boy – Lee – and takes to the trail, fighting hardships and finding friends as she goes.

However, to top it all off, Lee is being chased by her parents’ murderer so that he could control her and make a fortune off her. Damn.

This book gets a solid 4 stars from me because I think that it is a very great start to the trilogy. I didn’t know this was going to be a trilogy until I finished the book, so I’m really pumped to see where things go! There are so many things I’d like to see happen and I’m sure we’ll be seeing them as the series progresses.

The main character was so strong! Sure, she let herself cry but she wasn’t weak. Our main character is fierce, smart, strong, and loyal. This is only the second Western book I’ve read but I’ve noticed these traits as a pattern in the genre – which really appeals to me. Strong characteristics in MCs are very essential to me and this book definitely did not disappoint.

Another thing I loved about this book was the slow-burn romance, I’m a sucker for these. They’re painful but it all ends up totally worth it in the end when the characters get together. That makes me even more excited for book two!

There’s just one teeny tiny issue I had with this book. The secondary characters weren’t developed enough. I felt like they had potential to become something more, something more complex. However, they were just kind of… basic. I’m hoping we get more intricacy in the remaining books.

Other than that, this was a very enjoyable read and a great kick-starter to the trilogy! Solid, action-filled plot, slow-burn romance, and a fierce heroine. Everything you’d need in a book!

Rating: 4 fish!

4 fish

Leave a Reply

