Book Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Six-of-Crows-Book Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Published by Henry Holt and Company on September 29, 2015

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Pages: 466 – hardcover, 465 – ebook & paperback

Format: ebook

                             BUY LINKS

goodreads amazon_button b and n


Blurb:

The Grisha Trilogy introduced readers to the irresistible fantasy world of the Grisha – and now Leigh Bardugo brings us a new sweeping epic.

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of inetrnational trade where anything can be had for the right price – and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy, Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone.

A convict with a thirst for revenge.
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.
A runaway with a privileged past.
A spy known as the Wraith.
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction – if they don’t kill each other first.


Review:

“A gambler, a convict, a wayward son, a lost Grisha, a Suli girl who had become a killer, a boy from the Barrel who had become something worse.”

Oh my god, you guys. I think I loved this book even more than the original series. It had everything I wished Shadow and Bone had. Kickass heroines, fast-paced plot, character depth & development… I mean, what more could you want in a book?! This book is also set in the Grishaverse, but it has a significantly darker feel to it than Leigh’s fantasy trilogy, Shadow and Bone. I don’t know about you but I love me some bloodthirsty books.

The hype surrounding this book was huge – possibly the longest amount of time I’ve seen a book get hyped about on social media. So, as a result, I was skeptical. Massive book hype usually does that to me. I read the blurb and it intrigued me, I read the reviews and I was fascinated, I saw the cover and I was already in love before I even started!

When you start reading the book, you may find that it really drags on until halfway through. It’s frustrating, but when you get to the halfway point, everything picks up and you start piecing stuff together. As cliché as it sounds, trust me when I say: It gets better as you go on. I’m pretty sure Leigh, being the genius she is, did this purposely. It allowed her to add such complexity to her world and flesh it out so, so spectacularly. A well-deserved round of applause to Leigh for that.

This book has multiple POVs – six, to be exact. When I learned that, it made me pretty nervous. This was due to the fact that in books like this, I usually tend to prefer one character’s POV over the others. This almost put me off Six of Crows. Well, I needn’t have worried – and you shouldn’t, either. Leigh balances the depth of her charactersextremely well. You won’t get confused between their stories and I really don’t think you’ll find it in you to dislike a single character, even if they’re (kind of) stonehearted criminals. Their background stories aren’t immediately revealed, but the way pieces of them are scattered in the beginning really helps you make sense of where they came from, how they got to the Barrel, and their struggles and aspirations. Six of Crows has the best cast of characters I’ve read about in a while.

The above statement leads me to my next point – the romance. It was very nicely paced and developed. There are an abundance of couples to root for in this book, which is basically a fangirl’s dream come true. However, they’re also very obvious and the obstacles between the couples are kind of inconsequential. I’m not sure if revealing the couples is considered a spoiler when they’re so plain to see, so I won’t. Although it’s not a major point in the story, I’m really hoping the romance becomes more complex in the upcoming books.

Speaking of complexity, can we just talk about the plot? The heist, the well-executed plans… so action-packed! The action was perfectly paced, especially in the second half of the book, and I flew through these pages. The scenes were wonderfully described, and the writing was just – beautiful!

The characters were extremely dimensional, well-developed, and multilayered. The writing was real and breathtaking as hell, and the plot was somewhat fast-paced. There was a wonderful blend of darkness, humor, romance, & action in it, which made for an epic tale. This was a solid, strong kickoff to what could be a very intense trilogy.

This is just a warning, but there are minor spoilers for the Shadow and Bone trilogy. It’s totally up to you if you want to read it before this book or not!

Rating: 4 fish!

4 fish

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

  1. This book is on my TBR and I’ve been wanting to read this. But it’s big and 6 different POV’s. I thought I might get confused if I take breaks during reading this. So I’m saving it for later. I’m glad you loved it. Maybe I will too. 😀

Leave a Reply

