Book Review: Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira

bea Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira

Published by Spencer Hill Contemporary on January 19, 2016

Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary

Pages: 350 – paperback, 250 – ebook

Format Read: eARC

Source: NetGalley

BUY LINKS

goodreads amazon_button b and n


Blurb:

In a perfect world, sixteen-year-old Phoebe Martins’ life would be a book. Preferably a YA novel with magic and a hot paranormal love interest. Unfortunately, her life probably wouldn’t even qualify for a quiet contemporary. But when Phoebe finds out that Dev, the hottest guy in the clarinet section, might actually have a crush on her, she turns to her favorite books for advice. Phoebe overhauls her personality to become as awesome as her favorite heroines and win Dev’s heart. But if her plan fails, can she go back to her happy world of fictional boys after falling for the real thing?


Review:

I received an uncorrected proof of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This in no way impacted my views.

I’ve never related to a book more than I have to Bookishly Ever After. It was like this book was written for us bookworms and readers everywhere. It was unbelievably adorable, funny, cute, amazing, and a hundred more adjectives! I’m trying not to gush in this review, but guys, read it! Funny thing is that I read the whole book at school – during classes, during lunch, on the bus, even while walking in the hallways. I don’t like reading books at school usually because I find that I can’t fully immerse myself due to the distractions around me; however, this was the first one I’ve read in a while that managed to do just that!

The characters were amazing! I could totally see parts of myself in Phoebe, and her friends’ personalities reminded me of my friends, too. The way she prefers the company of books over people’s and how she’s a bit of a loner because of that kind of reminded me of myself in middle school. Also, I loved Phoebe’s sense of humor and quirkiness! I’ve snorted quite a few times in class while reading her lines, unfortunately. Also, the scenes where she cosplays as her favorite book characters are really cool. I honestly just want to become Phoebe right now. Phoebe’s her own kinda person and I especially admire that about her. She’s witty, smart, and hilarious – an impressive combination! She’s also good at knitting, another unique hobby.

Her relationships and interactions with the other characters were also really entertaining to read about. Alec, Grace, Em, and Dev were all hilarious and I loved their weird little tight-knit band/theater group. My favorite would obviously have to be Dev, though. He was such a perfect match for Phoebe that it frustrated me that it took so long for them to get together! I mean, I wasn’t really frustrated but I just wanted them to goddamn kiss already!! Phoebe sucked at flirting so much I kind of made noises at my book when she tried to. So, I guess I could understand why it took so long. If I had Phoebe’s flirting skills (which I do), I’d never even get a guy to look at me twice! I’m surprised she succeeded. The last half of the book, when they were at camp, was definitely my favorite part! Phoebe and Dev had so many cute moments that I honestly couldn’t stop my inner fangirl. SO.ADORABLE. Oh, and did I mention Dev was Indian? Hooray for diversity!

The books that we get excerpts from in the story were also really good! I was so bummed they weren’t real books, I’d buy them in a heartbeat if they were! Hidden was definitely my favorite. Imagine if we get a whole book based on it, like Rainbow Rowell with Carry On! I can’t believe Bandeira managed to pull all this off and she’s a debut author. Absolutely amazing! Not only did she write a page-turner of a book with an enthralling cast of characters, but she also managed to create two fantasy storylines that go along with it and incorporated them into the book! Round of well-deserved applause for that!

All in all, I found this to be a very enjoyable & lighthearted read. It was cute, quirky, and romantic with dimensional characters and an amazing dynamic! It managed to incorporate so many fantastic elements into the story, which made it such a page turner. Trust me, this book is going to be just what you need to read right now. It definitely was for me.

Rating: 4 fish!

4 fish

Follow me on | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Twitter |

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira

Leave a Reply

