Book Review: Indiana Belle by John A. Heldt

indiana-trr-headline-398x625 Indiana Belle by John A. Heldt

Published John A. Heldt on April 14, 2016

Genres: Historical Fiction/Romance, Time Travel

Pages: 295 – ebook

Format Read: ePub

Rating: 3.5 stars {rounded to 4 stars}

Source: Author (John A. Heldt)

BUY LINKS

goodreads amazon_button


Blurb:

Providence, Rhode Island, 2017. When doctoral student Cameron Coelho, 28, opens a package from Indiana, he finds more than private papers that will help him with his dissertation. He finds a photograph of a beautiful society editor murdered in 1925 and clues to a century-old mystery. Within days, he meets Geoffrey Bell, the “time-travel professor,” and begins an unlikely journey through the Roaring Twenties. Filled with history, romance, and intrigue, INDIANA BELLE follows a lonely soul on the adventure of a lifetime as he searches for love and answers in the age of Prohibition, flappers, and jazz.


Review:

Many thanks to the author for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This in no way impacted my views and opinions below.

Okay, so this may not be my first read by John A. Heldt, but it is my favorite! I’m probably going to say that about every single book of his I read in the future. This book captivated my attention from page one and managed to keep it it till the very end. I was so fully immersed in the book, and that’s saying something, because I’m not a regular reader of the time travel genre. Well rest-assured, I’ll be reading a lot more time travel books now.

What makes this such an immersing read is the way the world was fleshed out. I found it really easy to visualize the setting of this book. The author does a magnificent job of depicting the 20s; it’s obvious that meticulous research was involved in this. The writing was also contributory to the book’s impressiveness. It was very well-articulated, but not too convoluted with unnecessary descriptions, which I loved. It made everything flow really well together and made it easy to follow along. I could practically picture myself in the 1920s!

The characters were also really easy to relate to. Candice’s character drew me in from the beginning. At first, I was afraid I wouldn’t like her because I usually cringe at the way women from the 20th century are written in books, but that turned out not to be a problem! Candice is an extremely wonderful and likable character with her repertoire of witty comments and sarcastic one-liners. I loved her independence, intelligence, and good-naturedness. Of course, she’s not rainbows and unicorns all the time – she has a dark past – but that just makes me admire her character even more.

As much as I liked Candice, I felt like Cameron’s personality was a bit bland in comparison – as in, his character somewhat falls on the “plain” spectrum. There was a bit of one-sided instalove on his part, and although it is later reciprocated, instalove has just always been something that put me off. Still, Cameron and Candice’s relationship dynamic as it developed was pretty interesting to read about.

Also, can we talk about the book’s premise? Time-travel books usually require a certain level of suspension of disbelief, and they have to be executed really well – not too complicated and science-y, but not too straightforward and simple. I feel like the author’s done an excellent job in accomplishing that. In addition to being a time-travel book, this book also incorporates historical fiction, romance, and mystery elements. Best of all worlds!

Overall, this is a fast-paced book with a plot that has many twists that are sure to keep you flipping pages till the very end. In addition to dimensional & well-rounded characters, the author’s casual, easy-going style of writing truly makes this an enjoyable read. If you think time-travel books aren’t your thing, I’d recommend trying again with this book!

Follow me on Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Twitter

Rating: 4 fish

4 fish

Leave a Reply

